Why do atheists go on living?

16Mar09

The movie Blade Runner  has always been, to me, one of the most incredible movies ever made.  The flick, adapted from the novel Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?  by Philip K. Dick, struggles to answer the question, “What does it mean to be human?.”

I’ve labored to pen my explanation and interpretation of this scene. But, alas, words fail me in that they seem extraneous and unnecessary.   So I will allow you the reader to interpret why this scene does demonstrate why atheists and agnostics, despite the claims of the apostle Paul and many Christians since then, do in in fact have a basis for meaning and purpose in their lives.

I think also the scene symbolizes a reason for blogging, journaling and all forms of literary expression on the part of the “nobody” writer. We write and share so that others will know were were here and what our eyes have seen.

Please comment, whether or not you agree or disagree.

7 Responses to “Why do atheists go on living?”

  1. Hi,

    Blade Runner (or as we say in the east: Brade Runner) is also one of my favorite movies.

    I agree that this scene is a beautiful expression of why our lives are meaningful and purposeful. I also tried to pen a few thoughts before just letting the scene speak for itself ^^

    By the way, I’ve been reading your comments on exchristian.net. Good stuff.

    I enjoyed the video from the post Christian Idiocy of Harris, Hitchens, and Dawkins. Though I feel Dawkins was taking some cheap shots by reading ‘Christian’ hate-mail (what was he trying to suggest?), the interview with Wendy Wright was amusing. Why were her voice and facial-expressions so strange? Lol. Dawkins is a smart chap. I wonder if he didn’t choose such a wacky lady to make the rest of self-identified Christianity look bad. Of course, it isn’t hard to find wacky-Christians out there (myself excluded of course :D)

    I started watching the debate between Turek and Hitchens, but fell asleep ^^ I will listen to it again now while I’m cleaning the apt.

    • 2 2serious

      Hawkins apparently has done a series of back and forth dialogs with Christian (and even Muslim) leaders which can be found uncut on you-tube. The only one I viewed so far is the dialog with Alister McGrath, a big-name theologian whom I read in my younger days.

      McGrath may be the only non-wacky person Dawkins invterviewed, but it was a stimulating back and forth.

  2. Hey, that is a good exchange. I watched the first 1/3 and will save the rest for tomorrow. It’s good to see the two of them discussing in good faith. Thanks.

    • 4 2serious

      I’m just finishing up Dawkins’ dialog with Bishop Harries, Bishop of Oxford. This is another pleasant, non wacko exchange as will.

      It appears that Dawkins may not be a fanged and horned demon after all!

  3. That is also an excellent exchange. I found myself in agreement with a lot of Bishop Harries’ views.
    Anyway, I stand corrected in suggesting Dawkins may be seeking out the (ummm) less-thoughful Christians out there. The two interviews you brought to my attention were clear, mutually respectful, and insightful. Props to him.

  4. 2serious,
    On the topic of videos, have you heard much from Pastor John Shelby Sponge? I really dig his message:

    I really dig his view of ‘tribalism’ in the Bible as being ‘idolatry’.
    God Bless

    • 7 2serious

      Sorry it took so long to respond. I wanted to take time to listen to the whole video.

      Yes, the idea a progression from tribalism in the historical/legal texts of the OT to the notion that God is love in the NT with significant overlap with certain OT prophets (Hosea, for one) is an observation of biblical literature I have retained even since by deconversion.

      I had heard of Bishop Spong mostly from references to him on ex-christian.net, but had never read or listened to him. Thanks for pointing out this vid. I thoroughly enjoyed it.


Leave a Reply

